Home, Computer, Hazardous, Household Waste Recycling, e-Waste Management, Garbage Removal, Disposal & Drop Off Solution Center | Modulo Recycling & Reuse Centers

Awards for Excellence finalists announced

Community groups, businesses and local authorities have all been revealed as finalists for the 2013 Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management.

The Awards will celebrate their 10th anniversary next month at a celebratory luncheon and awards ceremony to be hosted by BBC presenter Susanna Reid.

Launched in 2004, the Awards, organised by letsrecycle.com with Palm Recycling as awards partner, aim to recognise progress in recycling, reuse and waste minimisation across all sectors including local authorities, retail, industry and the community sector. Recognition is also given to individuals as well as organisations.

Great ideas

Jeff Cooper, vice-president of international recycling and waste group ISWA, chaired the judging panel and commented: “This year compared to 2004 when the Awards were launched shows how far industry, councils and individuals have come in their recycling work. I can still see great ideas and progress in the entries submitted.”

Steve Eminton, editor of letsrecycle.com, said: “We were again very pleased to receive so many entries and I would like to thank all those who entered, particularly those who did not make it to the finalist stage. It’s inspiring to see all the efforts on the ground to improve recycling and waste management.

The Awards are held at the Landmark Hotel, Marylebone, London with a drinks reception sponsored by Wastepack

“While there is always the argument there is just a job to be done, the enthusiasm and ideas shown in the entries make it clear how much effort people are putting into their work and how they are trying to make positive moves beyond the norm in delivering sustainable waste management.

He added: “I wish all the finalists well and look forward to seeing them next month at the Awards event.”

To attend the Awards luncheon and ceremony, please visit: www.awardsforexcellence.co.uk (http://www.awardsforexcellence.co.uk/)

2013 Awards Finalists

High Street Recycling Champion

Debenhams Retail plc
The Co-operative Group
TK Maxx

Commercial Recycling Champion (individual)

Charlie Bailey, Burnt Tree Group
Sharon Parsons, waste manager, B&Q
Debra Patterson, Savoy Hotel

Waste Management Initiative in the Commercial and Public Sector sponsored by: PHS Group plc

3663: Zero Waste to Landfill
Booker Packaging Recycling Service
Veolia Water Organics Recycling

Collection Crew of the Year sponsored by : GeesinkNorba

Dave Vasey, Harborough – FCC Environment
Charles Brown and Barry Talbot, Garden Waste Collection Crew, London Borough of Merton Olympic Contract Collection Crew, SITA UK

The Best Community Recycling Initiative sponsored by: DHL

Bikeworks Community Initiative
Oak Farm and Ditton Priors Community Composting Scheme: Shropshire Council
Total Reuse CIC: The Tool Shed

Recycling business of the year

DS Smith Recycling
Hadfield Wood Recyclers
JBS Fibre Recovery

Civic Amenity Site of the Year sponsored by : Repic

Hadleigh HWRC: FCC Environment for Suffolk County Council
Witley CRC: SITA Surrey for Surrey County Council
Witchford Household Recycling Centre: AmeyCespa for Cambridgeshire County Council

The Best Local Authority Recycling Initiative sponsored by : Palm Recycling

Cheshire West and Chester Council: Recycle First Transformation Team
Oxfordshire County Council: Bike Reuse
Warwickshire County Council and Warwickshire Community Recycling

Awards Website

For more information about the Awards event, please visit the Awards website.

Local Authority Recycling Champion sponsored by : Biffa

Joanna Dixon-Fillingham, Croydon Council
Rebecca Lake, Oxfordshire County Council
Philip O’Keeffe, London Borough of Lambeth

Zero Waste Platinum Award sponsored by: SaicaNatur and Wastecare

City Derry Hotel
FM Conway
United Biscuits


The Award winners will be announced on May 16 at the ceremony which takes place during the day at the Landmark Hotel, Marylebone. For further information, email: Daniella Jarvie-Thomas at letsrecycle.com (mailto:daniella.t@letsrecycle.com?subject=Awards 2013).